Skip to content

Family heirloom

October 28, 2010

For as long as I can remember, we’ve had The Beamer; or as we call him in our family, Joggie. (Pronounced yoggy, with a guttural G.)

1988 Silver BMW 318iMy mom drove him for 16 years, with us kiddies in the back seat.  She used to pretend that, when she pushes the hazard button, the car’s wings come out and we fly over the traffic. My cousin, bless his cotton socks, believed her.

When I turned 18, he became mine.  For skiving off school with my mates, going through the car wash with my varsity buddies – all of us licking our McDonald’s R2 cones, making out in, driving too my first job in, and just generally being cool in.

Then I got a real job and had to buy my own car, so my sister took over – grinning like she’d won the lottery – to enjoy the same experiencesThe Beamer 1

She had an accident on Monday evening. Some lame-assed bugger jumped a red light.  She’s fine.  The Beamer’s totaled.

The Beamer 2

As she told the insurance peeps: “It’s a box of memories!”

The Beamer 3

I’m having a moment of sadness.  Bye Joggie – thanks for the good times.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kimi permalink
    November 12, 2010 6:36 PM

    NO!! *gasp* Sad 😦 RIP little Beemer.

Leave a Reply

