Skip to content

Is a dress! (And it’s calling a model…)

November 10, 2010

One that makes me look like a ladeeeee.  Seriously, it looks classy, but edgy. Am hoping I’ll look like a proper hottie when I wear it to my cousins’ upcoming weddings.  (‘Tis wedding season in my family.)

Chelsea shift - front

It’s the Chelsea shift in navy, from Adam and Eve. (It also has a really cool full-length zip at the back.)  I now own two Adam and Eve dresses – and I love them.  Reckon their tagline ‘Simple, Chic, Quirky’ fit the bill for both dresses (both purchased in-store at Blackbeard and Dare).

Chelsea shift - back

I know, these picture do NOT do it justice.  One day I’ll have enough courage to do a real outfit post and then you’ll get to see how FANTASTIC it looks on a real person.  The last pic was taken from their site.  I was a little disappointed – their site, unlike their dresses, doesn’t quite get me excited.  Which is a pity considering their clothes are exceptionally well-made. (I find some local designers – at least the more affordable ones – have a tendency toward loose threads, uneven hems or tacky fabrics.  That’s not to say I don’t think we have some truly exceptional unique designers, just that some must bear in mind that it takes more than a sowing machine, i.e. some proper finishing.)  I actually picked this dress over another one when my mother dearest declared the other one just wasn’t made as well.

Chelsea shift on mannequin

Anyway, I came across their site when I was looking for a cool pic of the dress to blog.  I emailed them to tell them how much I love their stuff, and to gently suggest that they use a model for the pics – ‘cause I don’t like that black plastic!  Al responded (he’s very nice) to say that the mannequin’s name is Iman (I like it a lot more now!) and that they can’t use models due to their quick stock turnaround.  Methinks shmodels over charge! They should advertise prettiness for GRATIS.  Anyway, so he asked if I know of anyone who might be willing to model some of the clothes in studio and accept payment in stock – anyone know of anyone?

One thing I should say: I appreciate that designers like these guys make an effort to showcase their clothes online, because South African retail shops are waaaaayyy behind the online wagon!

I feel a post of all my favourite shopping sites coming on… Been meaning to talk to Vertigo about theirs – eish, is not up to scratch…

PS. Once I get the hang of this photo editing business there’ll be some pretty cool pics going up!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2010 9:57 AM

    we LOVES it 🙂

  2. amy permalink
    November 10, 2010 10:22 AM

    Its so true about poor finishings!as much as I love to support local talent,they fall apart so fast:'( I love this little shift!what stunning capped sleeves!

    • November 10, 2010 10:59 AM

      And weirdly, those sleeves actually make your arms look really thin – bonus!

    • November 12, 2010 6:31 PM

      Completely! I’ve done some sewing recently and it is incredibly hard – even when the outsides look alright, the insides are generally a mess.. I am in awe of the few% of commercial fashion houses who actually produce beautiful garments. There’s nothing quite like shelling out for something fabulous knowing that you couldn’t have made it yourself!!

  3. Thandi permalink
    November 10, 2010 11:38 AM

    Lovely shifts:) I’d be interested in modeling for stock.., how do I get in touch with them??

    Thanks!

  4. November 12, 2010 6:25 PM

    Oooh – very pretty and very you! I think you be their model 🙂 You might have to walk around with a caption reading ‘dressed by adam and eve’ though.. Heck, who wouldn’t want to model for them?!

Leave a Reply

