Skip to content

Smirnoff Nightlife Exchange – and how I won something for the first time. Ever.

November 29, 2010

So most of you know, but for those that don’t: It’s a party that’s held across 14 cities worldwide.  Smirnoff paired the cities off, and each pair had to exchange certain elements that they thought were typical of their respective nightlife (nightlives?).  Cape Town had to exchange with Berlin! (I looove Berlin!)  Basically, long huge ramble that doesn’t mean much, other than I WON TWO TICKETS!  The only way to get into this party is by winning tickets – and did I mention that I WON?! (Can you also tell that I’ve never one anything before?  Least not by luck, merit only.)

Smirnoff Nightlife Exchange Project, Cape Town

Anyway, basically went and had a blast – Smirnoff really spared no expense!  The whole evening cost me the grand total of R25.  No really.


Stage at the Cape Town Smirnoff party

Music booth at the Smirnoff party

I’ve never been to an event like that, so it was amazing to see how they pulled it all off.  House music is big in Berlin, but not quite my scene – although obviously couldn’t let that stop us! Think acrobats, Mac booths for Tweeting and Facebooking to let everyone else know how jealous they should be, a make-your-own cocktail station, music booths where you basically lounged around on orange velvety stuff listening to German music, German snacks and free drinks.  Also some very brave girls dancing on the stage – had fun checking out their outfits and hair!

Smirnoff dance floor
The Mac social networking centre at the Smirnoff Nightlife Exchange, Cape Town
Also somehow ended up in the VIP area by accident…

Didn’t have my camera on me (it’s just too big to lug around at a party like that), so I grabbed the pics off their Facebook page.  Jokes though, that is actually me sitting in the orange booth listening to music, they must have snapped without us knowing.

Thanks Smirnoff! (After all the years of solid patronage I’ve given them, I reckon it was about time they threw me a party!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2010 1:51 PM

    Sounds and looks awesome! I love those orange and white booth thingies.

Trackbacks

  1. More on vodka. « Mink's musings

Leave a Reply

