Skip to content

My new year’s post. I’m late like that.

January 18, 2011
tags:

Wow kids, it has been a week.  An emotional rollercoaster one.

I haven’t had the best few months, and though I soldier on and there are good times a plenty in between, I’ve been really kinda feeling it today.

My year hasn’t gotten off to the best start, what with ongoing work and health issues that are still hanging around from last year.  And I had a really bleak phase that still gets me down some days. Plus there’s the usual daily little dramas and crappiness.  Boy confusion has also been real, from the nice ones to the douchey ones. And not in the charmingly-cute way, but in the I-should-just-not-be-allowed-to-interact-with-them-in-any-way way!

ANYWAY, the point is that, even on the days when the bleakness catches up, it never ceases to amaze me how much I learn from the crappy things. One of my big themes of last year was definitely learning more about myself and the people I surround myself with.  The one thing I still struggle with is the letting go issue.  It surprised me how, once I started taking note of the things drawing me down, I realised it’s sometimes the things that I least expected that I need to let go of.  And, more often than not, it’s the things (or the people) I least expect to be able to cheer me up who do.

So, as the post title infers, I’ve realised I never did a “My resolutions/reflections for 2011” and I’ve been meaning to do one.  At the start of the year I sat down and wrote a few things down that I’d learnt about myself last year.  I’m not sure if they’re true, or if they’re just the things I hope I’ve learnt 🙂 but that’s my thing for this year: To keep the list going.  I figure it doesn’t matter what this year brings my way, as long as I learn from it and walk out stronger.

The end.

PS. Only happy-clappy posts tomorrow, promise!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

