Skip to content

It started with pics and then turned into blogs

February 11, 2011

Blissfully happy Friday morning to y’all!  Look at me – Only two days later and I already have pics of Em’s gig to put up!!! So ridiculously proud of myself it’s actually bordering on being lame.

Old-school wall decorations at the Alma


Richard of the Alma

Probably the most well known attraction of the Alma – the lovely Richard (the owner) and his patchwork jeans!


The Hedges

The Hedges

(These guys performed before Em and they’re pretty awesome, you can find them on Facebook.)

 

Emma du Preez

Emma du Preez


Lavender and fairy lights

 

Putting this post together had me thinking about the blogs I enjoy most.

I love outfit posts and and style tips as much as the next girl, but I tend to prefer blogs that incorporate a little bit of life amongst it all.  There are days when I’m feeling uninspired by my own wardrobe, want to stare at pretty things, want to go shopping but can’t afford to or am simply bored.  On those days NOTHING beats scrolling through the endless list of unread blog posts in my Google Reader or Bloglovin’ account, soaking up the inspiration and prettiness.

That being said there are the other days – the days when really, I just don’t feel like waiting forever for a pic to load and I’m really just looking for some inspiration of another kind, something to give me something to think about. Or I’m just feeling icky and looking for some advice, or something to relate to.

I’m a sucker for anything that can help me navigate this thing called “my life” because really sometimes I think I’m just not equipped to do it myself! And when I look at some more experienced bloggers who seem to have it all figured out, it’s like a big-sister syndrome. I wanna know how they’re doing it so I can DO EVERYTHING EXACTLY THE SAME.  (No, not quite. Of course not.) So I subscribe to a whole range of blogs – from career tips to blogging tips to “inspirational” blogs (lame term, I know) and, yes, style blogs.

Anyway, so I’m going to try and do the same thing on this blog.  Every now and again I’m sure you’ve noticed I post something a little bit more, well, I hesitate to use the word “introspective”, but just a bit more related to what’s going on in my life, through my head, general life-stuff.

The one area I think this bloggity has been lacking in are more personal touches – like pics of the things I get up to.  I’m working on getting some more pics of my “real” life up here.  I know how interesting it can be to get glimpses of what other people are up to, rather than just updates about random things!

So, while I’m on the topic – what kind of blogs do you guys prefer following?  I’m planning on adding some more blogs to my blogroll (which has now been organised alphabetically for your convenience, by the way), but I’m wondering which cool ones out there I might be missing…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2011 10:05 AM

    Those jeans are really super cool…wondering if I could get away with faded denim with floral patches without looking like my mom in the 80’s? 😉

    Thanks again for the bloggy-love loveliest 🙂 !!

  2. February 11, 2011 10:38 AM

    I think that’s a lovely idea! Always feels nice when you can write about things that make you happy be it life or fashion. Looking forward to reading some of you lifey updates x

  3. February 17, 2011 8:22 PM

    Alma cafe is such a great venue. How have I never been before? Sorry Em! Love all the funny things like the tin collection.

Leave a Reply

