Skip to content

A lovin’ ramble

February 15, 2011

I was going to post this yesterday but ended up having quite a bit of admin to sort out.  Suffice to say I fell into bed at 10pm and blogging was a no-go.  But I figure it’s only the day after Valentine’s day so I can still post about luuuuuurve – only this has nothing to do with romance!

A few weeks ago I mentioned in passing that I was really, really excited to be participating in Galadarling’s first Radical Self-Love workshop.

It. was. AWESOME!

My Heart of Hearts

via

I tend to be a bit sceptical about things like this (“this” including affirmations and  what I shall jokingly refer to as “hippy-like” stuff).  For some reason magazine horoscopes seem more plausible! I don’t know why it seemed like a good idea (aside from my well-known girl crush on Gala), but she runs a fantastic blog, is clearly a smart cookie and I wanted to hear what her accent sounds like. (I mean, Kiwi-cross-American?!) I also always enjoy her radical self-love posts so thought it would be worth finding out more about it.

I ended up only being able to view the workshop a few days later (there were some technical difficulties with the first broadcast, but they re-did it and put up a recording).

After listening to the workshop though, I realised that I really like Gala’s radical self-love theory and that there’s probably something to it. It’s also completely personal (I’m pretty sure each person participating in her RSL month are doing things in their own way), so it’s pretty easy to join in and try it out.

I see it as a fun way of getting into self-awareness and conscious living.  (I’ve been reading an awful lot of blogs on that kind of stuff the last few months!)  It’s manageable, and not as intimidating as I thought it would be.  We even got homework – little exercises to do and things to keep an eye on for the rest of the month, including keeping a journal. It’s supposed to be to track your progress but really I find it more useful to counter niggling “What was I supposed to do for RSL again…” moments.

I’ve never been very good at keeping a journal, but I like having this notebook that’s completely dedicated to writing down things I notice about myself.  And not in the today-I-ate-an-ice-cream-and-I’m-sad-because-I-had-a-fight-with-someone way.  I like having these little lists of things I can refer back to and find myself jotting down constantly. One more week and I’ll be clutching my notebook to my chest with my friends trying to convince me to see a professional regarding my separation anxiety whenever they try to take it away from me…

Jan 31 - Candy Hearts

via

I’ve thought a lot about what I want to get out of this year (“this year” just being a convenient time-measure), and doing this has really helped me get that into perspective.  Part of the exercise initially was writing down things I’d like to see happen in February – from small frivolous little things to big dreams to completely random stuff. (At least, that’s what my list looked like, can’t vouch for anyone else!)  Anyway, of course I’m not even halfway yet and I can see that some of these things won’t happen – but it’s also really cool to see how many of the things I wanted to happen have already become a reality!

Anyway, it’s been going really, really well. I’ve gotten into the swing of it and enjoying the time I set aside to journal and do my “homework”.  I’m hoping I’ll be able to keep this going beyond February.

If you want to find out more about Radical Self-Love you can read this section of Galadarling.

That was a lot of rambling, I hope you can make sense of it!  I’ll stop now, just one more thing:

I checked my stats yesterday and noticed that you guys completely outdid yourself last week!! The bloggity’s best week yet and far exceeding the stats of previous weeks –

you guys ROCK!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Renata Torres permalink
    February 15, 2011 2:20 PM

    Your post was really nice. The passage I liked the most was: “but it’s also really cool to see how many of the things I wanted to happen have already become a reality!”. I think that think about one’s qualities instead of flaws is a huge step towards self-loving. This is a really difficult area for me and your post reminded me of how important this is. Thanks a lot. 😉

    • February 15, 2011 2:23 PM

      Thanks lovely! I’m having so much fun – writing about it helps me think it through.

  2. Renata Torres permalink
    February 15, 2011 7:22 PM

    Writing ALWAYS helps me think things through… Btw, I loved GalaDarling’s blog! What a great idea she had!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention A lovin’ ramble « Mink's musings -- Topsy.com
  2. Sunday lovings « Mink's musings

Leave a Reply

